Tags

, , , , ,


Occasionally my wife asks me “why do you love me”?  I simply respond that I love her because I love her.  Imagine if I said, “I love you because you’re beautiful”, or “I love you because you take such good care of me”, or “I love you because you are smart or funny, etc.”  If I did that, her security in my love would be forever attached to the characteristic that I say I love her for.  She could never be secure in my love because it is based on a condition.  God’s people often suffer from the same insecurity if they are not grounded in the truth of why God loves them.

Have you ever wondered why God loves you, why he has chosen you to be a part of his family, why he would save you?  If you start looking for the answers to these questions in yourself you are on the wrong track.  The biblical gospel is clear.  God chooses to save people, not because they are special or good, or have potential, but simply because God chooses to set his love on people.  There may be no better example of this than God’s response to Israel in Deuteronomy 7:6-8:

“For you are a people holy to the Lord your God. The Lord your God has chosen you to be a people for his treasured possession, out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth. 7 It was not because you were more in number than any other people that the Lord set his love on you and chose you, for you were the fewest of all peoples, 8 but it is because the Lord loves you and is keeping the oath that he swore to your fathers, that the Lord has brought you out with a mighty hand and redeemed you from the house of slavery, from the hand of Pharaoh king of Egypt.

In these verses God clearly states that he has chosen a people to be his treasured possession.  The immediate question is why?  Was it because we were strong, smart, innovative, morally righteous – what?  The Lords answer to this is quite the opposite.  It was not that Israel was a great nation, but that they were small and insignificant, offering nothing.  So what is the answer why does the Lord choose people.  The ultimate answer is that God loves you simply because he chooses to love you.  That is the answer given in Deuteronomy.  God loved Israel because he loved them.

Thank God for this!  For, if he loved you or me because of something in my personality, character, or track record, that love could be easily revoked if that characteristic in me changed.  So rather than wondering why God loves you, you should simply be in awe – floored by the fact that the Almighty Creator and Sustainer of the universe chose to set his love on you.  Glory in that.

